EBS International Summer School presents: 30 Under 30

The Estonian Business School has created a new 30 Under 30 award to recognize outstanding young leaders under 30 years of age. This year we will be awarding it to innovators who are working in the digital innovation and/or green transformation fields in Estonia. The winners will be selected by a jury of experts who include: Dr. Kerli Kant Hvass, EBS’ circular economy lead, Martin Kruus, co-founder of Four Energy AS, Tiit Paananen, VP of Engineering at Veriff, Professor Meelis Kitsing, EBS rector, and Dr. Anna Ebers Broughel, energy economist at Tetra Tech.

The mission of EBS is to inspire and support entrepreneurial young people and help them reach their full potential. Since we are one of the leaders of digital transformation in higher education and focus on promoting the circular and green economy in business education, we have decided to give out our first 30 Under 30 titles in this field.
“The digital and green transformation must emphasize more grassroots initiatives in addition to policy goals,” says EBS rector Professor Meelis Kitsing. According to Professor Kitsing, such initiatives can focus on the launch of a new business, a new engineering solution, implementation of change in a larger organization or improving life in local communities, schools or neighbourhoods. “Youth boost the young by setting positive examples – particularly because positive changes will affect their life most in the long run,” added Kitsing.
„Estonia business community needs 30 Under 30 recognition for up-and-coming Estonian and international movers and shakers, who conduct business in Estonia and move the needle in their respective fields. We especially encourage the nominations of women and minorities that are often underrepresented in business. While the focus is on entrepreneurship, we also welcome nominations from those early in their corporate and government careers, who have shown unconventional leadership at their workplace. The winners will be recognized during the first International Summer School in Digitalization and Sustainability, and we hope that this will become an annual tradition at EBS,“ says the jury member Dr. Anna Ebers Broughel, who also is the academic director of the EBS International Summer School.
All outstanding leaders of digital and/or green transformation fields who are under the age of 30 (as of 31 December 2021) are welcome to apply. The applications can be submitted by candidates as well as by companies/organizations and others who have noticed leaders worthy of recognition. The application deadline is 16 July 2021 and you can find more information on EBS’s website here.
The 30 Under 30 awards will be given out on 18 August 2021 in a ceremony held during the EBS International Summer School. The Summer School is taking place on 9-19 August in Tallinn and Helsinki and features Estonian and European top officials, scholars and business leaders. The main speaker will be Bengt Holmström, winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences. The young leaders awarded the title will get an opportunity to share the summary of their work with the summer school attendees.
Dr. Anna Ebers Broughel
Chair of the jury
E-mail: 30under30@ebs.ee